

Telecommunications Subcommittee

Meeting Minutes

July 13, 2023

Salt Lake City, Utah

1. Welcome, Call to Order

Scott Johnson, Western Area Power Administration (WAPA), Telecommunications Subcommittee (TCOMS) Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m. MT on July 13, 2013. A quorum was present to conduct business. A list of attendees is attached as Exhibit A. Note that this is the first meeting of TCOMS since its formation following the WECC restructuring that resulted in the transition of the Telecommunications Work Group (TELWG) to the TCOMS.

2. Review WECC Antitrust Policy

Peter Ashcroft, Data Scientist, WECC, read aloud the WECC Antitrust Policy statement. The meeting agenda included a link to the posted policy.

3. Approve Agenda

Mr. Johnson introduced the proposed meeting agenda.

On a motion by Karl Knoll, the TCOMS approved the agenda.

4. Review and Approve Previous Meeting Minutes

Mr. Johnson introduced the minutes from the TELWG meeting on March 9, 2023.

On a motion by Shaun Skidmore, the TCOMS approved the minutes from March 9, 2023.

5. Review Previous Action Items

Natalie Carter, Administrative Coordinator, WECC, reviewed action items carried over from previous TELWG (now TCOMS) meetings. Action items that are not closed and will be carried forward can be found here.

6. Secretary Position Discussion

The TCOMS Charter has been approved; today is the first official meeting of TCOMS, previously, the TELWG. Mr. Knoll proposed that the group elect a secretary. While WECC meeting minutes are general and serve as WECC's legal record, the group would like a secretary who has industry telecommunication expertise. The group discussed the difference between WECC meeting minutes and notes created by members for their reference. Mr. Johnson suggested that meeting notes be posted to the TCOMS secure site. Ms. Carter noted that



meeting notes may be circulated to meeting members via email. Chris Witthaus, Bonneville Power Administration, volunteered to be secretary of the group.

On a motion by John McCarthy, and by unanimous agreement, Mr. Witthaus was elected secretary of TCOMS.

7. Guidelines for the Design of Critical Communications Circuits Status

Mr. Ashcroft informed the group of WECC's public comment process for documents. This process ensures sufficient time to gather input from stakeholders. The document will be posted for a two-week public comment period. Comments received during this time will be considered; the document will be finished and will be posted by the Reliability Risk Committee's (RRC) approval. Mr. Ashcroft will work with WECC's Strategic Engagement team to move the document forward.

8. Intertie Circuit Consolidated Data Update

Matthew Barrington, Pacific Gas and Electric, provided an update on intertie circuit consolidated data. After comparing the intertie data base and the telecommunication circuit database there are a considerable number of inconsistencies. Subsequent discussion resulted in two action items listed below. This topic could be submitted to the RRC for consideration as part of its risk analysis initiative.

9. Inter-utility Communication for Critical Circuits

The group discussed challenges of establishing communications beyond a utility's service territory.

10. RRC Outreach

Tim Reynolds, Manager, Risk Analysis, WECC, discussed the purpose of the RRC, its responsibilities, the Risk Management Process, and encouraged all stakeholders to participate. There is a document available on how to report a Risk Assessment. The RRC has a three-year work plan in place. Stakeholders can learn more about the RRC Risk Management Process on the RRC webpage.

11. 6 Ghz Wi-Fi and FCC Update for October

The group discussed how low-power indoor devices are encroaching on the 6 GHz frequency band and the Wi-Fi consortium is driving the issue, making motions toward 7 GHz and 8 GHz. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) previously only considered complete loss of paths—not pervasive degradation. Subsequent discussions resulted in an action item listed below.



12. Review New Action Items

- Mr. Johnson will investigate the history of the intertie circuit recommendation requirements to determine the origins of the former requirement, whether they are still relevant, and will report findings at the October TCOMS meeting.
- Mr. Barrington will investigate the implication of the NERC standards in the context of intertie circuit recommendations and will follow up with former Joint Synchronized Information Subcommittee representatives.
- Group members will audit their ring-down functionality, backup strategies, and will forward this information to Mr. Witthaus.
- Mr. Barrington will invite Lockhart and White to present at the October meeting on their work related to the 6 GHz issue and will include the status regarding the Utilities Technology Council.
- Group members will confirm their RRC representative with Mr. Reynolds by the end of July.

Upcoming Meetings

13. Adjourn

Mr. Johnson adjourned the meeting without objection at: 4:49 p.m.



Exhibit A: Attendance List

Members in Attendance

Matt Barrington	Pacific Gas and Electric
Omar Brito	Imperial Irrigation District
Darin Brummet	
Carlos Gary	Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Casey Hutchingson	Avista Corporation
Scott Johnson	
Wanye Klien	British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority
Karl Knoll	Portal General Electric
John McCarthy	Southern California Edison Company
Arturo Moreno	Salt River Project
Caleb Murphy	San Diego Gas & Electric
Brian Norlund	PacifiCorp
Arun Orn	Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Shaun Skidmore	Idaho Power
Chris Witthaus	Bonneville Power Administration
Members not in Attendance	
Anthony Boardingham	WAPA
Doug Brennan	
Ryan Culley	Pacific Gas and Electric
Jennifer Dekeyser	Pacific Gas and Electric
Jerry Delgado	El Paso Electric Company
Boubacar Diallo	British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority
John Ganley	Avista Corporation
James Gaxiola	Imperial Irrigation District
Victor Gong	
Carlos Gonzales	Salt River Project



Mark Goto	Pacific Gas and Electric
Gregory Johnson	Avista Corporation
Jeffrey Maze	Arizona Public Service Company
Tien Nguyen	San Diego Gas and Electric
Lee Onsager	NV Energy
David Parkhurst	PUD No. 2 of Grant County
Jack Raty	NorthWestern Energy
Scott Strugnell	Pacific Gas and Electric
Kelly Teague	California Independent System Operation
Alex Valdez	Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Others in Attendance	
Peter Ashcroft	WECC
Natalie Carter	WECC

